“Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” is a clear example of fake Technical Support Website. It will display bogus warnings and alerts about troubles presently bugging your computer. There are times that sub domains were used to represent a clean and nice looking web page for its online services to fix ailing computer. Same with most dubious Customer Support Site, the primary goal of “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” pop-up is to deceive people in order to compel them into calling Technical Support number like 0800-090-3285. Most people who avail of the services rendered by “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” considered the paid assistance as rip off.
Redirecting or seeing “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” on your web browser program like Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, or Mozilla Firefox doesn’t necessary mean that computer is infected with a virus. The redirect may occur when you visit a web site that was put-up for malicious intent. Although, there are still chances that some web browsers who are redirected to “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” are affected by malware. This has to be determined by running various anti-malware and anti-malware scans on the system.
Screen shot image of “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” Pop-up:
Scammers have found other way to steal money from Internet users by acting as if they are legitimate online technical support specialist. In order to get hold of patron, these online fraudsters are issuing various fake alerts and diagnostics through malicious web sites such as “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted”. A bunch of adware, including freeware and shareware were also used to modify browser settings so that it makes a forceful visit to fake technical support web site like “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted”. Part of the message it will display reads:
Warning! Your Hard drive will be DELETED if you close this page. You have ALUREON virus! Please call Support Now! Call Toll-Free: 0800-090-3285 to stop this process.
Aside from targeting web browsers, cyber criminals are also investing to dozens of web sites that are prepared to make a redirect to “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” when visitors interact with it. Either way, when you bumped into “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted”, we highly suggest closing the page and avoid clicking on any buttons. Immediately run an anti-virus scan to remove any malware if “Your Hard Drive Will Be Deleted” or related web sites have managed to drop one on your PC.